Where does the word nerd come from?

In the 1950 Dr. Seuss's book If I Ran the Zoo the narrator claims that he would collect "a Nerkle, a Nerd, and a Seersucker too" for his imaginary zoo. In 1965 nerd was originally spelled K N U R D, or drunk spelled backward. It was used to describe people who studied rather than partied.