Who are the da vinci code bad guys?

The supposed villains of the The DaVinci Code were the Illuminati. The original Illuminati was founded in 1776 in Bavaria with the goals to oppose superstition, religious influence over public life, and abuses of state power. The author, Dan Brown, stretched the truth a bit about the Illuminati.