What happens when you burp?

Sometimes eating or drinking too fast can cause indigestion, which can make a person burp because this can send extra air into the stomach. The same thing happens when you drink through a straw: extra air in equals more burps out.

---

Burping is a way body expells excess air from your upper digestive tract. This is usually caused by swallowing excess air if you eat or drink too fast, talk while you eat, chew gum or suck on hard candies, drink carbonated beverages or smoke. Some people swallow air even when not eating or drinking.