Is y. a consonant?

Sometimes the letter Y represents a vowel AND sometimes a consonant. The letter Y is a vowel when: there is no other vowel in the word: as in, fry, sly, gym, and myth. The letter Y is considered a consonant when the letter Y is at the end of a word, as in, happy, early, company, baby, and twenty.