What is the fickle finger of fate?

A metal award on wooden base used on Rowan & Martin's Laugh-In depicting a hand with a winged pointing finger, and metallic plaque which reads "Flying Fickle Finger of Fate." Stamped on the bottom of the award is "(Copyright symbol) George Schlatter - Ed Friendly Productions And Romart, Inc.