What's the difference between white sesame seeds and black sesame seeds?

The difference between black and white sesame seeds is essentially the same as the difference between whole-grain wheat and white wheat: black seeds include the hulls.

---

black sesame seeds have a stronger, nuttier flavor than the white counter – like a white sesame seed with the volume turned up. You may find the texture is different as well as the black often come with their thin outer hull still attached unlike their white counterparts