What is the source of turpentine?

Turpentine is a volatile oil distilled from pine resin, which is obtained by tapping trees of the genus pie nus.

---

Turpentine, is a fluid obtained by the distillation of oleoresin from living trees, mainly longleaf or slash pine trees. It is mainly used as a solvent, and as a source of material for organic syntheses.