Who invented twerking?

The first recorded instance of twerking was during the 2013 MTV Video Music Awards where Miley Cyrus performed the dance on Robin Thicke.

---

It originated as part of the bounce music scene of New Orleans in the late 1980s. Individually-performed, chiefly but not exclusively by women, dancers move by throwing or thrusting their hips back or shaking their buttocks,