What is water brash?

Water brash occurs when a person produces an excessive amount of saliva that mixes with stomach acids that have risen to the throat. A person with water brash can get a bad taste in their mouth and feel heartburn. Doctors sometimes refer to water brash as acid brash, or hypersalivation.