How did a cup of coffee become known as a cup of joe?

One theory as to the origin of the term “cup of joe" stems from a 1914 ban on alcohol on U.S. Navy ships imposed by then Secretary of the Navy Josephus “Joe" Daniels. After his order, imposed near the beginning of World War I, the strongest drink a sailor could get on a ship was black coffee.