What's the difference between a zip code and a postal code?

A zipcode is a term that usually refers to the numeric code at the end of a USA mailing address. It can also be generically called a Postal code. The term Postal code is usually used for the similar code in non USA international addresses, which can be numeric or alphanumeric.