Where does gas come from?

Gasoline, A.K.A. petrol, is refined crude oil. As of January 2020, there were 697 refineries around the world and 135 refineries in the United States. US production is generally based on the price of crude oil. High crude price mean more US production. Low crude price is lower US production.