What is effect versus effect?

Affect, with an a, is usually a verb, and it means to impact or change. Effect, with an e, is usually a noun, an effect is the result of a change.

---

Affect, spelled A-F-F-E-C-T, means to change or create a difference in someone or something. Effect, spelled E-F-F-E-C-T, is the difference itself.