How many musical instruments are there?

There are literally thousands of kinds of musical instruments, and multiple examples of each. In his 1964 book, "Musical Instruments: a Comprehensive Dictionary", Sybil Marcuse listed over 2500 instruments -- and many more have been invented since then.