What did howard hughes invent?

In 1932 Hughes formed Hughes Aircraft, which produced several inventions in aerospace technology. Howard was presented the Congressional Gold Medal in 1939 for his achievements in advancing science in aviation. One of his greatest inventions was the H-4 Hercules, a military air-boat plane