How do you become a professional singer?

In jest, get someone to pay you a dollar to sing a song. Seriously, to sing professionally, you need a great voice, preferably formally trained by school, stages bands or musical plays. Be willing to work hard, relocate to a music centric city. Apply for advertising and studio backup vocal gigs.