When did patrick mahomes start playing for the kansas city chiefs?

The Kansas City Chiefs selected Mahomes in the 1st round in the 2017 NFL Draft. He was the first quarterback selected by the Chiefs in the first round since selecting Todd Blackledge seventh overall in the 1983 NFL Draft.