What is the difference between beef consomme and beef stock?

While similar to beef broth, beef consommé is a much darker liquid with a velvety texture and rich flavor. Because of the gelatin content, consommé has more body than traditional broth or stock. It's not thick like a jelly but more of a gravy-like consistency.