Do dogs get chiggers?

Yes. Their bites cause intense itching, which canbe miserable for dogs that venture into achigger's natural habitat. ... Probably the biggest misconception about chiggers is that they burrow into the skin and feed on blood. However, chiggers actually feed on skin cells and don't penetrate the skin.