Who are the yule lads?

Icelandic Christmas folklore depicts mountain-dwelling characters and monsters who come to town during Christmas. The Yule Lads are a group of 13 mischievous pranksters who steal from or harass the population and all have descriptive names that convey their favourite way of harassing.