Why do clocks tick?

the tick sound is when the pendulum swings one way and the 'tock' is the other. Modern, electric clocks work differently. They use small motors to advance the hands each second. When the motor moves the hand you hear the gears moving against each other, then a fainter sound as they relax into place

---

To be annoying but also to keep track of time