Is zinc in electrolyte?

Zinc chloride electrolyte If zinc chloride is substituted for ammonium chloride as the electrolyte, the anode reaction remains the same: the cathode reaction produces zinc hydroxide and manganese oxide. The battery has an electromotive force (e.m.f.) of about 1.5V.