Do dogs understand pointing?

Dogs can learn to understand pointing in a variety of contexts. Hunting dogs are taught to follow the hunter's directional signal to locate and retrieve a fallen bird. Many household pets learn to follow a hand pointing to a scrap of food on the floor.