What is the claw machine?

A claw machine, also known as a claw crane or toy crane, is a type of merchandising arcade game commonly found in supermarkets, restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping malls. The crane operator attempts to maneuver the crane to pick up a toy of choice and drop it down a chute to the player.