What's the difference between the capital and the white house?

The U.S. Capitol Building is the primary meeting/office space for the legislative branch of government. It's where the House of Representatives and U.S. Senate meet & create legislation. The Executive Mansion (WH) is official residence, office & function space for the sitting President.