How rare is a blue moon?

Blue Moon's occur about once every 2.7 years. A double blue moon only happens around three to five times within a century.

---

Blue moons are an additional full moon that appears in a subdivision of a year: either the third of four full moons in a season, or a second full moon in a month of the common calendar. They generally occur about every three years.