How do you throw away in madden twenty two?

To throw the ball away in Madden 22, press the right thumbstick. Make sure, however, that you're outside of the tackle box/pocket before throwing the ball away. Unless there is an eligible receiver in the area, the throw will result in an intentional grounding penalty.