Who sang the song someone left the cake out in the rain?

The Song, MacArthur Park, contains the line , someone left the cake out in the rain, is a song written by Jimmy Webb. Richard Harris was the first to record it in 1968, hitting #2 on Billboard. It was later covered by numerous artists, and became a hit also for Donna Summer in 1978.