Why is scotland yard called scotland yard?

The name derives from the location of the original Metropolitan Police headquarters at 4 Whitehall Place, which had a rear entrance on a street called Great Scotland Yard. This rear entrance became the public entrance and eventually the street and the place became synonymous.