Is there a golden oak island?

Oak Island is a small island in Nova Scotia. On Oak Island there is a pit reputed to hide a golden hoard beneath several layers of traps intended to keep anyone from accessing the treasure. No one has found a major treasure in the pit in spite of hundreds of attempts to reach the bottom.