Why is the moonwalk called the moonwalk?

The moonwalk was a step that mimes and dancers would use to 'walk in place'. ... When MJ was interviewed after he first performed it on the Motown 25th Anniversary, he was asked what that move was called and he said 'the moonwalk'. Michael Jackson renamed the backslide to the moonwalk.