Why is the devil's hour three a.m.?

The so-called devil's hour falls at 3am because that is when melatonin starts to drop off in the human body, readying you for waking. Many people wake up at that time because of the melatonin, and since they've just been dreaming, they're more likely to feel confused and "spooky."