How do you call the thing in which the present is wrapped?

Presents are usually wrapped in 'wrapping paper,' decorative paper that hides the gift from view until it is removed and discarded as part of the unwrapping ritual. Wrapping presents can heighten the surprise of the gift and send the message that the giver considers the receiver worth the effort.