What started prohibition?

Carrie Nation started a women’s movement to ban alcohol. She was known as Hatchet Granny for attacking liqueur establishments with a hatchet. Alcohol was banned and secret drinking places grew up called Speak Easies. Other people started making their own alcohol in the back woods called moonshine.