How do you measure how big a tv is?

TV sizes are quoted as the diagonal distance from one corner of the screen to the opposite corner. So a 42-inch screen measures 42 inches from the top left corner to the bottom right corner of the screen (or the top right corner to the bottom left corner). Measure your TV with this in mind.