How many minutes do you boil an egg for a hard boiled egg?

Place eggs in a large saucepan. Cover them with cool water by 1 inch. Cover pan with a lid and bring water to a rolling boil over high heat; when the water has reached a boil, set the timer for the desired time. Boil for 6 – 7 minutes over medium-high heat for perfect hard boiled eggs.