What does the q. stand for in l. b. t. q.?

The first four letters of this standard abbreviation are fairly straightforward: “Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender.” The Q can stand for “questioning” -- as in still exploring one's sexuality -- or “queer,” or sometimes both.