What's the difference between a plane and a prairie?

A plain is a more generic term which refers to an expanse of flat land that is treeless. There’s hardly any depression or elevation in the ground on a plain. A prairie is just one of kind of plain. It is therefore safe to say that prairies are plains while plains are not always prairies.

---

A plain is a large area of level or rolling treeless country and a prairie is also large area of level or rolling land that usually has deep fertile soil, a cover of tall coarse grasses, and few trees.