What is the shins muscular dystrophy?

Duchenne muscular dystrophy, or DMD, is a genetic disorder characterized by progressive muscle degeneration and weakness. DMD is caused by an absence of dystrophin, a protein that helps keep muscle cells intact. Symptom onset is in early childhood, usually between ages 3 and 5.