What is a calling code?

A calling code typically refers to the first one or two digits added to the beginning of a phone number to specify the country you are calling. They are not used when calling phone numbers within the originating call's country.

---

Each country is assigned a code. The US code is 001. To dial internationally, you must first dial the country code, then the phone number.