Who performed the song war?

WAR (What is it good for) was written by Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong for Motown Records in 1969. It was originally performed by the Temptations. It was later re-recorded and released as a single featuring Edwin Starr as the vocalist, this is the version most widely known.