How long was america's involvement in the vietnam war?

November 1, 1955 — President Eisenhower deploys the Military Assistance Advisory Group to train the Army of the Republic of Vietnam. In January 1973, the United States and North Vietnam concluded a final peace agreement, ending open hostilities between the two nations.