What's the difference between a french omelet and a regular omelet?

French omelets are lighter, puffier in texture, and cook faster. It is rolled and tightly folded in an oval, completely closed shape. Its surface is smooth and tender with soft interior served plain or with light fillings. American omelets are thicker and crispier and served with heavier fillings.