Where do elf on the shelves come from?

Your Elf On the Shelf lives in the North Pole. He is one of Santa's scout elves. Every season your elf will return to watch over you. Once everyone goes to bed, the elf flies back to the North Pole to report to Santa the activities, good and bad, that have taken place throughout the day.