What was desert storm war about?

When Iraq under Suddam Hussein invaded Kuwait, because they believed Kuwait stole oil the United States deployed Army and Marine Corps units in first Desert Shield as a defense strategy. When this did not end the invasion, Desert storm was initiated to repel Iraq’s troops from Kuwait.