What does a saucepan look like?

A saucepan is a deep pan with high edges. As the name suggests, this type of pan is usually used for making sauces or cooking things in liquid.

---

A saucepan has a distinct shape: It's deep with high sides and straight edges. It usually features a long handle with lid. Its surface area is generally small relative to its height, allowing heat to be evenly distributed through the liquid in the pan. It's also taller and narrower than a sauté pan.