How was the gatling gun used in the civil war?

The Gatling gun only saw occasional use the Civil War. 12 were purchased personally by Union commanders and used in the trenches during the Siege of Petersburg, VA, and 8 were fitted on gunboats. They were used in New York to overawe anti-draft rioters and in against strikers in Pittsburgh.