What year did the us mint start making proof sets?

A Proof Set is a complete set of proof coins of each denomination made in any given year. The US Mint began producing proof coins and a small number of "sets" as early as the 1850s. Proof sets made since 1936 normally contain one example of every regular-strike coin being produced in that year.