What is m. i. t. mean?

Most often MIT is used as the abbreviation for Massachusetts Institute of Technology. MIT is a private research university in Cambridge, Massachusetts and is considered a world leading technology university. However, MIT may also refer to Michigan Institute of Technology and others.