Can you make buttermilk?

Yes, you can make buttermilk. You will need whole or 2-percent milk and fresh lemon juice or white distilled vinegar. Take 1 cup of milk and stir in 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar. Let the mixture stand for 10 minutes and you're ready to use it.

---

A recipe that calls for buttermilk usually needs that acidity to turn out properly. To make a buttermilk substitute, just add 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice to a scant 1 cup of whole or 2% milk. Stir well, let it sit and curdle for 5 to 10 minutes, now you have a great buttermilk substitute.